Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Logo

Records and Information Management (RIM) Program

About Records and Information Management (RIM)

Archives and Special Collections in the Archer Library is leading the development and implementation of a University-wide RIM program in partnership with University units. This includes policies, procedures and a set of comprehensive tools called records classification and retention schedules which are used to classify/file records, assign official ownership/responsibility to specific areas on campus and provide guidance on how long records need to be retained before destruction or transfer to the Archives.


What is RIM?

RIM is the systematic organization and appropriate disposition of paper and electronic records in a way that facilitates accountability, accessibility and institutional identity.


Why should RIM matter to you?

When RIM tools and procedures are properly applied, they facilitate:

  • compliance with the University’s Records and Information Management Policy (GOV-070-005) approved by the Board of Governors
  • efficient identification and retrieval of paper and electronic records
  • transparent and accountable decision making
  • compliance with the University’s obligations under federal and provincial statutes (i.e. The Local Authority Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act) and contracts and agreements undertaken by the University
  • information sharing
  • lower storage costs for physical and digital records
  • preservation of records with historic value

Services

In accordance with the Records and Information Management Policy (GOV-070-005), Archives and Special Collections is responsible for:

  1. Providing direction to all areas and levels of the University concerning RIM standards. This includes policy and procedure development and review, training, and cooperative design of records schedules and best practices.
  2. Maintaining and preserving University Records of archival value that have been transferred to its care in accordance with approved records schedules and associated procedures. Access to these records is governed by The Local Authority Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Archives and Special Collections

The RIM program operates in conjunction with Archives and Special Collections. Archives and Special Collections preserves, promotes, and provides access to the recorded academic and cultural heritage of the University of Regina.

The archival collection consists of original materials relating to the University, its faculty, staff, and students, dating from the inception of Regina College in 1911 to the present day. It also includes private papers in various areas with a specific focus on the visual arts, journalism, and Saskatchewan literature. Archives and Special Collections maintains oURspace, the open access institutional repository of the University of Regina.

Special Collections consists of published materials that are rare, valuable, or have particular cultural and historical importance. The subject coverage of this collection is fairly broad but certain areas, such as western Canadian and Saskatchewan history, are emphasized.