Skip to main content Logo

COVID-19 Library Services Update: Home

Information current as of 10:30 a.m. on March 30, 2020

All information on this page is subject to change at short notice. Please check this page regularly.

The Dr. John Archer Library and Archives have transitioned fully to online services.

  • The Archer Library building is closed indefinitely to all walk-in traffic.
  • The Teacher Preparation Centre is closed indefinitely.
  • For updates about CampionLuther, and First Nations University libraries, please check their respective websites.
Online Reference and Instruction Services
  • If you have a research or study question, you can reach us via chat, email or text (306-993-1116).
  • Staff are monitoring chat reference from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. to ensure that questions are answered promptly. 
  • Your subject librarians are also available for reference consultations via email and Zoom. 
  • Instruction sessions can also be scheduled for Zoom.
Online Books and Journals
  • We subscribe to thousands of e-journals, e-books, and databases and you can access them 24/7, even when you are off campus.
  • The best place to start is Quick Find, the Archer Library portal to our entire collection. To find full text items in Quick Find, refine your search using the "Full text online" filter.
  • Information about searching Quick Find can be found here. If you are having trouble finding what you need, you can reach us via chat, email or text (306-993-1116).
  • You can also search our databases directly from the Library database listing.
  • We also have a broad range of research guides available to help you locate information.
  • When connecting to e-journals, e-books, and databases from Quick Find from off-campus you will need to authenticate using EZ-Proxy. Normally, you will be directed to an authentication page where you need to enter your U of R network username and password (U of R email). If you have trouble connecting, contact us via chat, email or text (306-993-1116).

Digitization Services

  • We will work with you to digitize critical print materials and make them available through UR Courses, Reading Lists, or via email.
  • If you need access to a journal article that is only available in print at the Archer Library, we will digitize it for you and send it to you via email. 
  • If you need access to other print materials, please contact us and we will work with you to make it available where possible.  
  • An online digitization request form has been made available at the link below.  You can also submit digitization requests using Quickfind, by logging in and selecting the digitization option for the item you need.
  • Due to library staff working remotely, the turnaround time for digitization may take up to a week.
  • Please note: Due to copyright restrictions, we cannot guarantee digitization of commercial textbooks. Textbook requests will be handled on a case-by-case basis.  Many textbooks have already been made available electronically.
  • For other copyright considerations when moving your course online, please visit this guide.
Archives Staff are Available
  • Archives staff are available via email

Borrowing Information

  • If you have items checked out, you do not need to return them until the Library resumes physical operations. The book drops in the corridor in front of the Library are accessible if there is an urgent need to return materials.
  • Fines will be waived as of Monday, March 23, 2020. If you get a fines or fee notice, it may be disregarded.
  • Recalls are suspended indefinitely.
  • All Library laptops and iPads are no longer available for circulation.
  • We are processing electronic delivery of interlibrary loans only. (We cannot process physical interlibrary loans.)

Community Access

  • We have suspended issuing community access logins for our computers indefinitely. 
  • We have suspended issuing new community borrower cards indefinitely.