Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click here for a complete list of the Library's databases in religious studies.
ATLA Religion Database
This full text database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Journals representing all major religious faiths, major denominations, and language groups are included. Information dates as far back as 1949, and coverage continues through the present.
Religious & Theological Abstracts
R&TA provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. It currently abstracts more than 400 journals, with summaries produced by a team of scholars from around the world. Coverage includes journals relating to Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. English language abstracts are provided for articles in French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Afrikaans, Hebrew, Italian, and Spanish.
Shintoism: Religious Texts
A Popular Dictionary of Shinto by
Publication Date: 1996-04-11
A comprehensive glossary and reference work with more than a thousand entries on Shinto ranging from brief definitions and Japanese terms to short essays dealing with aspects of Shinto practice, belief and institutions from early times up to the present day.
The A to Z of Shinto by
Call Number: ARCHER BL 2216.1 P53 2006
Publication Date: 2006-02-27
Shinto is the ancient religion of Japan. Indeed, it is one of the oldest religions in the world that is still followed. Over the centuries it has evolved out of the worship of kami, the divine within the world. Shinto has assumed many forms ranging from its origins as a folk religion to its gradual mixture with Buddhism over six centuries, and from its redefining after the Meiji Reformation in the interests of nationalism to the end of World War II, when it again became a more personal choice. As one of the few ancient religions that still thrives, it is of interest to greater circles than Japan specialists, although it remains difficult to understand and even harder to characterize in western terms. Fortunately however, understanding is greatly facilitated by The A to Z of Shinto, which traces its long historical evolution in the book's chronology and carefully considers the religion from different angles in the introduction. The dictionary includes hundreds of cross-referenced entries on significant institutions, concepts, writings, thinkers, and most importantly, the kami. The bibliography provides an outlet for further study.