Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click here for a complete list of the Library's databases in religious studies.
ATLA Religion Database
This full text database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Journals representing all major religious faiths, major denominations, and language groups are included. Information dates as far back as 1949, and coverage continues through the present.
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
Click here and scroll down to Religion: Eastern Religions for a list of electronic journals available through the Library
The Encyclopedia of Taoism by
Publication Date: 2008-01-10
The Encyclopedia of Taoism provides comprehensive coverage of Taoist religion, thought and history, reflecting the current state of Taoist scholarship. Taoist studies have progressed beyond any expectation in recent years. Researchers in a number of languages have investigated topics virtually unknown only a few years previously, while others have surveyed for the first time textual, doctrinal and ritual corpora. The Encyclopedia presents the full gamut of this new research. The work contains approximately 1,750 entries, which fall into the following broad categories: surveys of general topics; schools and traditions; persons; texts; terms; deities; immortals; temples and other sacred sites. Terms are given in their original characters, transliterated and translated. Entries are thoroughly cross-referenced and, in addition, 'see also' listings are given at the foot of many entries. Attached to each entry are references taking the reader to a master bibliography at the end of the work. There is chronology of Taoism and the whole is thoroughly indexed. There is no reference work comparable to the Encyclopedia of Taoism in scope and focus. Authored by an international body of experts, the Encyclopedia will be an essential addition to libraries serving students and scholars in the fields of religious studies, philosophy and religion, and Asian history and culture.
Historical Dictionary of Taoism by
Call Number: ARCHER Reference BL 1923 P37 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-04
Taoism is often described as the smallest and least known of China's historical "Three Teachings," which also include Confucianism and Buddhism. This book provides a readable overview while simultaneously giving sufficient detail about the intricate and beautiful complexities of Taoism. A lengthy introduction deals with the historical development of Taoism, including its current situation within the world. It outlines the basic teachings, concepts, and writings, and also describes their historical significance. It also presents viewpoints on the crucial debate concerning whether Taoism is a religion, a philosophy or both. The dictionary section of the book presents the concepts, persons, rituals, beliefs, and historically significant events of Taoism in great detail. The entries move fluidly between current teachings in Taoism and their historical antecedents. Also included is a helpful chronology of Taoist history as well as notes on the romanization of Chinese. This book should not be overlooked by those who want a full study of this influential philosophical system.
Daoism Handbook by
Call Number: ARCHER BL 1925 D36 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Thirty major scholars in the field wrote this new, authoritative guide to the main features and development of Daoism. The chapters are devoted to either specific periods, or topics such as Women in Daoism, Daoism in Korea and Daoist Ritual Music. Each chapter rigidly deals with a fixed set of aspects, such as history, texts, worldview and practices. Clear markings in the chapters themselves and a detailed index make this volume the most accessible key resource on Daoism past and present.