Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
E-book version of 15-volume printed encyclopedia of cross-cultural studies of religions in their social and cultural contexts
The Encyclopedia of World Scriptures by
Publication Date: 2001
The most sacred and influential writings the world has recorded are covered A-Z in this encyclopedia. The entries include works from the cities of Mecca, Jerusalem, Rome, Delphi and Salt Lake City; from the Indus Valley and the American West, from classical China, Egypt and Greece.
Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism, and Humanism by
Call Number: BL 2705 C66 2006 (Campion)
Publication Date: 2005-07-05
In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism. In the preface, author Bill Cooke notes that his work is intended "for freethinkers in the broadest sense of the word: people who like to think for themselves and not according to the preplanned routes set by others." This dictionary will serve as a guide for all those people striving to lead fulfilling, morally responsible lives without religious belief. Readers are offered a wide range of concepts, from ancient, well-known notions such as God, free will, and evil to new concepts such as "eupraxsophy." Also included are current "buzzwords" that have some bearing on the freethought worldview such as "metrosexual." The names of many people whose lives or work reflect freethought principles form a major portion of the entries. Finally, a humanist calendar is included, on which events of interest to freethinkers are noted. This unique, accessible, and highly informative work will be a welcome addition to the libraries of open-minded people of all philosophic persuasions.
The Encyclopedia of Apocalypticism by
Call Number: ARCHER BL 501 E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
Survey of apocalypticism's role in Western history, from its origins down to the third millennium
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion by
Call Number: ARCHER BL 65 P7 E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
A reference that seeks to explain the powerful confluence of religion and politics. It features over 240 articles exploring how religion and politics interact in different cultures; coverage of individuals, institutions, countries, events and themes; and a focus on the last 200 years.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by
Call Number: ARCHER BL 31 E465 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-31
Explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society by
Publication Date: 1998
The sacred and profane continue to interface, conflict, and intermingle in novel ways. The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society provides a guide map for these developments. From succinct, brief notes to essay-length entries, this encyclopedia covers world religious leaders and scholars--past and present--in the United States and the world. This comprehensive volume is an essential reference for the study of the anthropology, psychology, politics, or sociology of religion.
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by
Call Number: CAMPION Reference BL 240.3 E43 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Examines issues and history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion. Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on major scientific discoveries and their effects on religious belief systems.
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
600 articles place all aspects of religious thought and experience in a new light; major themes include comparative study of issues such as mythology, ordination and afterlife