Skip to main content Logo

Bill Howard Collection: About the Bill Howard Collection

A guide about the Bill Howard Collection of rare books that was donated by his estate to the Dr. John Archer Library.

Introduction and Title List

 

The Bill Howard Collection consists of over 200 largely 19th century imprints of renowned English authors.  All titles in the collection are located in the Library's Archives and Special Collections which is located on the main floor.  None of the materials can be borrowed.  They can be viewed by asking for assistance at the Archives and Special Collections Information Desk. Below are some of the authors that feature prominently in the Howard Collection.  At the bottom is a downloadable list, in Microsoft Word, of the titles in the collection.

  • Browning, Robert (1812-1899)
  • Byron, George Gordon or Lord Byron (1788-1824)
  • Clare, John (1793-1864)
  • Crockett, S.R. (Samuel Rutherford) (1860-1914)
  • Edgeworth, Maria (1767-1849)
  • Eliot, George (1819-1880)
  • Hardy, Thomas (1840-1928)
  • Kipling, Rudyard (1865-1936)
  • Lever, Charles James (1806-1872)
  • Moore, Thomas (1779-1832)
  • Tennyson, Alfred Tennyson, Baron (1809-1892)
  • Watson, William (1858-1935)

 

 

Selected Titles in the Howard Collection

Selected titles were specially chosen to be displayed at the Bill Howard Collection of Rare Books Library Reception that was held on April 13, 2011.  Below is a link to a downloadable Microsoft Word file of an annotated bibliography of those selected works.  The document was created by Linda Winkler, Special Collections and History Liaison Librarian.  All of the books in the Howard Collection are located in the Dr. John Archer Library's Archives and Special Collections on the main floor.