Skip to main content Logo

Open Access: OA Journals

Economics of OA

Income Models for Supporting OA - provides an overview of income models currently being used to support the open-access distribution of peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals.

Compact for Open Access Publishing Equity - some universities have established funds to support OA publishing by their faculty authors. See this list of universities and links to their fund information.

Open Access Journal Business Guides - offers guides on business planning for converting a subscription-based journal to open access, business planning for launching a new open access journal; and includes a model business plan (a supplemental guide for open access journal developers and publishers).

OA Journals @ the University of Regina

in education is a peer-reviewed, open access journal based in the Faculty of Education at the University of Regina. The journal has been in existence since 1993, but published its first issue as an online journal in December of 2009.

Bibliographies

Open Access Journals Bibliography - This bibliography presents selected English-language scholarly works that are useful in understanding open access journals.

Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography - This bibliography presents over 3,800 sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet.

OA Journal Searches

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.

Jurn is a curated academic search across thousands of free journals in the arts & humanities.

BASE is a search engine especially for academic open access web resources.

Major OA Publishers

BioMed Central is the publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. ChemistryCentral and PhysMathCentral are also part of the BioMed Central group.

Hindawi publishes more than 300 journals in a range of disciplines.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals.

Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.

Synergies is a not-for-profit platform for the publication and the dissemination of research results in social sciences and humanities published in Canada.

"Hybrid Journals" is the term used for Toll Access (TA) journals that provide an Open Access option for authors who choose to pay the additional fee.

Publishers with Paid Options for Open Access - a list maintained by SHERPA/RoMEO.

Licensing Information

How to Start an OA Journal

Open Access Journal Publishing Resource Index ia a new index created by SPARC that complements the rich existing resource center by pointing to relevant sections in existing Open Access journal publishing guides and to sample journal proposals, policies, bylaws, and other documentation to help with planning, development, and collaboration issues.

The Online Guide to Open Access Journals Publishing provides practical information and tools to support the efforts of scholars and other small teams producing independent Open Access journals.

Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) is a trade association that was established in 2008 in order to represent the interests of Open Access (OA) journal publishers globally in all scientific, technical and scholarly disciplines.

Journal Publishing & Management Software

Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system that has been developed by the Public Knowledge Project through its federally funded efforts to expand and improve access to research.

A list of other journal publishing software.

A list of sites that will launch and host your journal.

Attribution

Content on this page has been copied and adapted from the ACRL Scholarly Communication Toolkit, available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.