Skip to main content Logo

Open Access: OA Repositories

Repository Software

Links to open source software for building open access repositories:

Repository Hosting Services

Open Repository is a hosted solution from BioMed Central that builds and maintains customized DSpace repositories on behalf of institutions and organizations.

Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD)

Theses Canada Portal
The access point for ETDs published in Canada. This portal is also available in French.

EThOS
A portal that provides access to ETDs from the U.K.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations: Find ETDs
A portal for searching and accessing ETDs from various institutions.

Institutional Repositories (IRs)

oURspace is the University of Regina's institutional repository for scholarly literature, research results, official communications, and materials which define the cultural context of the University of Regina, its faculty, researchers, staff, and students.

Canadian Institutional Repositories - A list compiled by the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL).

Institutional Repository Bibliography - a bibliography of sources that are useful in understanding institutional repositories. Compiled by Charles W. Bailey Jr.

Open Knowledge Repository

The Open Knowledge Repository is an online collection of World Bank publications released under Creative Commons licensing.

OpenDepot.org

"The purpose of OpenDepot.org is to ensure that all academics worldwide can share in the benefits of making their research output Open Access. For those whose universities and organisations have an online repository, OpenDepot.org makes them easy to find. For those without a local repository, including unaffilitiated researchers, the OpenDepot is a place of deposit, available for others to harvest."

Selected Discipline Repositories

PubMed Central Canada is a free digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences literature based on PubMed Central.

arXiv.org - is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

SSRN eLibrary - Social Science Research Network is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Cogprints - an archive of documents in the fields of psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science, philosophy, and biology.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR) - is a computer science repository.

E-LIS - hosts e-prints in library and information science.

More disciplinary repositories.

Licensing Information

Attribution

Content on this page has been copied and adapted from the ACRL Scholarly Communication Toolkit, available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Search Across Repositories

OAIster - is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Use OAIster to search across repositories.

Repository Directory

OpenDOAR - is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each repository has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to check the information that is recorded in the directory.

Other Repository Info.

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) - provides information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

The Ranking Web of World Repositories - is an initiative of the Cybermetrics Lab, a research group belonging to the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), the largest public research body in Spain. The Ranking of Repositories has been published since 2008 and two editions are available each year.

Associations

COAR (Confederation of Open Access Repositories) - is a young association of repository initiatives launched in October 2009. Its mission is to enhance greater visibility and application of research outputs through global networks of Open Access digital repositories.