Skip to main content Logo

FNUniv Library Guides: Indian Affairs Annual Reports

Indian Affairs annual reports, Record Group 10 files, the Indian History Film Project, and Subject Searches

Indian Affairs Annual Reports

Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1864-1990

Online Collection - Library and Archives Canada

 www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/databases/indianaffairs/index-e.html

 

 

What is contained in the Indian Affairs Annual Reports collection?

The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was created in 1966. The Indian Affairs Annual Reports (1864-1990) collection contains the complete annual reports for the department from 1967 to 1990. In 1991 the departmental annual report was integrated into the Estimates Part III (which now includes the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Performance Report) and the Public Accounts.

Before 1966, different departments were responsible for the portfolios of Indian Affairs and Northern Affairs. For a list of these departments, see the history section of this site.

The Indian Affairs Annual Reports collection also contains the annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966. The annual reports for Northern Affairs are not included. To access a Northern Affairs annual report from before 1967, consult the government documents collection of a research library. Refer to the publications of the department that was responsible for Northern Affairs at that time.

Schedules of Indian Bands, Reserves and Settlements is a separate publication that is also valuable for historical research. The Schedules from 1902 to1992 have been digitized and added to the Indian Affairs Annual Reports collection.

Contact the FNUniv Libraries

Contact the FNUniv Libraries directly during opening hours 

http://www.fnuniv.ca/library

FNUniv-Regina 306-790-5950 ext. 3429

September to December, January to April
Mon - Thurs 8:00am to 6:00pm
Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm
Sat -
Sun CLOSED

May to August
Mon - Fri 8:00am to 4:00pm

*Library hours are subject to change (changes are posted in library)

 

FNUniv-Saskatoon 306-931-1800 ext. 5425

September to December, January to April
Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm

May to August
Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm

*Library closes daily from 12:00pm to 1:00pm

 

FNUniv-Northern Campus 306-765-3333 ext 7430

September to December, January to April

Monday 8:30am to4:30pm

Tues - Thurs 8:30am to 6:00pm
Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm

May to August
Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm

*Library hours are subject to change (changes are posted in library)

http://www.fnuniv.ca/library

Download this guide