Skip to main content Logo

Computer Science: Finding Articles

This guide describes ways to find information about computer science using resources available at the University of Regina.

Obtaining a Known Journal Article

If you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify an article, follow these steps to obtain the full text.

  1. Often, the article can be found by entering the title in Quick Find, in Basic Search mode.
  2. In Quick Find, click on e-Journal Titles and enter the title of the journal or the ISSN. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link and then use the article's bibliographic information (year, volume, issue) to find it.
  3. Look up the journal by title of the journal in Quick Find, in Advanced Search mode. When you do the search, set the Material Type to Journals. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link to access the journal; or, for an older issue, you might see a call number for the print journal. This is the most reliable method of finding an article.
  4. If the library doesn't have the journal, or doesn't have the issue that you need, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan (or UREAD for non-Regina-based students/faculty/staff).

Obtaining a Known Conference Article

This section assumes that you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify a conference article.

  1. Look up the name of the conference in Quick Find, in Basic Search mode. Leave out words that indicate the year or ordinal numbering (e.g. 5th) of the conference.
  2. If you don't find it in Quick Find, and the conference is an ACM conference or an IEEE conference, look in the ACM Digital Library or in IEEE Xplore, respectively. (Most ACM and IEEE conferences are in Quick Find, but there can be exceptions; or your search keywords might not have matched the words in the Quick Find record.)
  3. Many conference proceedings are published as volumes in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science, although citations to articles in those proceedings often don't note that fact. The entire Lecture Notes series is in the database SpringerLink. If you do not find the article via steps 1 and 2, look in SpringerLink.
  4. If you still don't find it, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan (or UREAD if you are a distance education student, or a faculty member not based at the Regina campus). If you are not sure that you searched for it correctly, feel free to contact the science librarian.

To Begin Searching for Articles

You can start searching for articles quickly using Quick Find. You will retrieve articles and books, and you can limit your results to only articles (or only peer-reviewed articles) if you prefer.

Finding Articles on a Topic

Best Bets for Computer Science

Non-publisher databases:

  • Web of Science
    A major comprehensive science database, containing journal articles and articles from conference proceedings.
  • The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
    An open-access searchable amalgamation of computer science bibliographies, containing references to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.
  • CiteSeerx
    An open-access search engine for scientific literature, especially in computer and information science. Includes citation data.
  • io-port.net
    An open-access search engine for computer science and engineering literature.

Publisher databases:

  • ACM Digital Library
    A database of journals and conference proceedings of ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), the world's foremost computer science society, and those of some affiliated publishers.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Publications of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), including those of the IEEE Computer Society.
  • SpringerLink
    A database from Springer (and its imprints), an important publisher of computer science (and other science) content. SpringerLink includes the full text of all volumes of Lecture Notes in Computer Science, a major source of conference proceedings.
     

Also Useful

Non-publisher databases:

Publisher databases: