Skip to main content Logo

Special Collections: Welcome

Describes Special Collections in the Archer Library including basic user information and information about its sub-collections.

Rare Books

Welcome to Special Collections

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections is a collection of  books, periodicals and some audio-visuals that are rare, have special regional interest or are in unusual formats such as art books. The collection is housed in a room inside the University Archives which can be accessed only by Library staff. However, you can use the collection anytime the Archives is open.  Special Collections has materials related to Saskatchewan and its history, the Prairie Provinces and the City of Regina, as well as unique collections of other materials acquired by the Library since the beginning of Special Collections in the 1960's. 

Special Collections also includes books authored by faculty, staff and members of the University of Regina community.  The materials in Special Collections mainly support the research interests of the university and the collection is developed by the Library with that objective in mind.

Why Is Special Collections Kept Separate?

The reason that books in Special Collections are kept in a separate area is because they are valuable and, in many cases, are in a fragile physical condition that requires careful handling.  Many of the books in Special Collections are rare. They are often preserved in a special way too.  Books are placed in Special Collections for a number of reasons.  But you can be sure of one thing. If the book is located in Special Collections there is something about it that is unusual. 

Can I Find Special Collections Books in the University Library Catalogue?

All books in Special Collections are listed in the Library's online Voyager catalogue. The location designation in the Voyager record is Archer Special Collections.

Subject Guide

Michael Shires's picture
Michael Shires
Contact:
University of Regina Library
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina. SK S4S 0A2
306.585.5418